As A Lady Should

When boy’s toys are all around

We sit and smile, as a lady should.

 

My brother plays with finger-paints

I keep my hands clean, as a lady should.

 

My brother disobeys my mother,

But I do as both parents say, as a lady should.

 

When doing group work I take charge and get called bossy

So I sit back and let a boy take charge, as a lady should.

 

When I go home I play with dolls

To practice being a mom, as a lady should.

 

The guys sit however they like,

But I sit with my legs crossed, as a lady should.

 

I can’t ask questions because that would be rude,

So I wait to be spoken to, as a lady should.

 

In high school I got a boyfriend,

And I listened to him, as a lady should.

 

His room was dirty,

So I cleaned it, as a lady should.

 

In college I studied Education,

So that I could be a teacher, as a lady should.

 

I wore clothes that covered from my neck to my knees,

To not show too much skin, as a lady should.

 

I got made fun of,

But I never lost my temper, as a lady should.

 

Instead of going to parties,

I stayed in, as a lady should

 

On Sunday while others nursed hangovers,

I went to church, as a lady should.

 

I kept looking, though,

For Mr. Right, as a lady should.

 

I learned about women’s studies and wondered,

Why do they not like men having control, as a woman should?

Leave a Reply

